Department of Education

Wheatbelt Education Region

Wheatbelt Education Region

Welcome to the Wheatbelt Education Region website.


The Wheatbelt Education Region is the traditional land of the Ballardong, Willman, Yued, Nadji Nadji and Koreng people who represent five different Noongar language and cultural groups.

There are 69 schools in a region which covers an area larger than the size of Tasmania and contains the major centres of Northam, Narrogin, Merredin, Katanning and Moora.  Young people come to our schools from communities like Wundowie and Boddington in the west to Southern Cross and Newdegate in the east, Dalwallinu in the north and Broomehill in the south. The families we serve depend on an economy that is based largely on agriculture.

2020-2024 Wheatbelt Education Region: Strategic Directions

We strive for and commit to a Wheatbelt Education Region where people in our school communities feel supported and empowered to deliver high levels of engagement, attendance, participation and achievement for every student, every day in every classroom.







The Wheatbelt Region

The 69 government schools in the region enrol approximately 10,000 students and include 41 Primary Schools, 20 District High Schools, four Senior High Schools, one K-12 College, two campuses of the WA College of Agriculture and one Education Support Centre. These 69 schools work in 6 networks of schools


Regional Services

The Wheatbelt Education Regional Office (Northam) and the Local Office (Narrogin) provide support to school networks including Attendance, Home Education, Participation, PEAC, School Psychology Services, SDERA and VET delivered to Secondary Students


Wheatbelt Schools and Networks

The 69 schools of the Wheatbelt Education Region are incorporated into six networks of schools. The majority of essential support services to schools now operate through schools and networks. Networks also maximise each School’s opportunity to share ideas, resources and professional support.


Contact Us

The Wheatbelt Education Regional Office is located in Northam with a Local Education Office in Narrogin. Northam is a regional centre east of the Darling Scarp and located on the route from Perth to the Goldfields and the Eastern States. Also a regional centre Narrogin is located 200 kilometres South-East of Perth on the Great Southern Highway.

Wheatbelt Education Region

All contents copyright Government of Western Australia, unless otherwise stated.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this site may contain images of people who are deceased.

Copyright material available on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0) licence
Exclusions may apply: