Department of Education

South Metropolitan Education Region

South Metropolitan Education Region

About Us

South Metropolitan Education Region

South Metropolitan Regional Education Office

The South Metropolitan Education Regional Office is located at 184 Hampton Road Beaconsfield.

This Office supports The Department of Education in Western Australia by implementing the following directives;

  • Assisting principals implement public school policy
  • Monitoring the performance of schools and intervening in underperforming schools and engaging with schools requiring more support
  • Providing principals and business managers/registrars with financial services
  • Responding to general requests for information from school communities
  • Assisting principals and the public manage complaints and incidents that may occur.

School Supports

By relocating services and resources closer to schools we have enabled principals, their staff and local communities to access greater control in the direction of their schools and how services are used to meet the needs of their students.

Most essential services, such as school psychologists, participation officers and curriculum support have moved to schools or networks of schools, allowing more flexibility at a local level to make decisions about how best to use those services and resources.

Networks of Schools

Within the South Metropolitan Region there are 19 networks of schools. These networks range in size from 22 schools to the smallest comprising of 6 schools. Each Network is controlled by a network principal.

The function of the networks is to;

  • Share resources between schools within the network
  • Enable schools within the network to enhance their professional learning capabilities and access specialist
         teachers for students
  • Allow a wider variety of curriculum choices for students
  • Transition students from primary to secondary schools
  • Provide a more consistent behaviour management and discipline policy through the schools within the
Previous page |
About Us

All contents copyright Government of Western Australia, unless otherwise stated.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this site may contain images of people who are deceased.

Copyright material available on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0) licence
Exclusions may apply: