Department of Education

North Metropolitan Education Region

North Metropolitan Education Region

Participation Team

The North Metropolitan Education Regions - Participation Team is responsible for supporting students in the final two years of their compulsory education period (typically year 11 and 12), or those turning 16 and 17 years, to comply with the legislative Leaving Age requirements in Western Australia. The leaving age rose from 15 to 16 years of age in 2006 and rose again from 16 to 17 years of age on 1 January 2008.

While all students are encouraged to remain in school until year 12 graduation, students can leave school to take up approved further education, training or employment pathway options, but it does mean that leaving school and doing nothing is no longer an option.

For early school leavers this means they will be required to participate in education, training and employment or combinations of these options until the end of the year in which they turn 17 years and 6 months old, or have satisfied the minimum requirements for graduation, or they have reached the age of 18 years, whichever happens first.

If school is not the best option, they may seek permission to attend a State Training Provider (formerly TAFEWA) or other Private Registered Training Organisations, gain an apprenticeship or traineeship, partciipate in full time employment, or a combination of thse options. However, for each of these options, students must complete a Notice of Arrangements Form and have Department of Education approval.

Alternatives to full-time schooling include:

  • Full-time enrolment in a State Training Institution (formerly TAFE) or Private Registered Training Organization
  • An apprenticeship or traineeship
  • An approved course with a community based provider
  • A combination program involving part-time school/training and part-time work
  • Full-time employment

To apply for one of the above alternatives, please complete the form on the Department's Participation website. There is also a Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) section that can provide answers to various questions you may have.

For young people who are early school leavers and at risk of not participating in education or other approved training or employment programs, special support is available through the Participation Team who work across the North Metropolitan Education Region to broker support for successful transitions and attainment into meaningful pathways. This team has a number of Participation Coordinators and Senior Participation Coordinators, led by an Engagement and Transitions Manager, to provide specialist support and advice to students and their parents, as well as to all schools where the students are enrolled.

The Participation Team can be contacted by telephoning the relevant Engagement and Transitions Manager: for the eastern side of the Region, phone Bruce Sherborne on 6235 7080; and for the western side of the Region, phone Dr Peter Reynolds on 9345 8295.  You may also contact the Participation Unit in Central Office on 1800 245 485 or the North Metro Regional Education Office on 9285 3600.

Participation Team

All contents copyright Government of Western Australia, unless otherwise stated.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this site may contain images of people who are deceased.

Copyright material available on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0) licence
Exclusions may apply: