Department of Education

North Metropolitan Education Region

North Metropolitan Education Region

Home Education

The home education team at the North Metropolitan Education Regional Office has the role to monitor compliance (including suitability of the education program and satisfactory progress) for each child registered for home education from families residing within the boundary of the North Metropolitan Education Region.

Under S.47 of the School Education Act 1999, a parent can apply to be registered as their child’s (or children’s) home educator and, under S.48 of “the Act”, the Department of Education will issue a certificate of registration to the parent. Under this arrangement, the parent is responsible for the education program for their child (or children).
Under S.51 of “the Act”, a Home Education Moderator is required to monitor each child’s Home Education program on a regular basis – initially, within 3 months of registration, and subsequently, at least once in every 12 months.

The Home Education Moderators in this region are:

Phil Bradbury Robyn Dunstan  Bill Gibson  Dave Lock
Neil MacFarlane Margaret Manners  Laurie Pond John Latham
Tracey McCarthy Alison Thompson    

The home education moderator’s are supported by two administration assistants, who can be contacted directly if a parent wishes to discuss how to register their child (or children) for home education.

Ms Sharon Manners
Phone: (08) 9285 3679

Ms Annamarie Lucchese
Phone: (08) 9285 3680

There are currently over 1000 children undertaking home education programs in the North Metropolitan Education Region.

For further information about the policies regarding Home Education, please refer to the Policies section on the Department's website.



Home Education

All contents copyright Government of Western Australia, unless otherwise stated.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this site may contain images of people who are deceased.

Copyright material available on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0) licence
Exclusions may apply: