Department of Education

North Metropolitan Education Region

North Metropolitan Education Region

Related items

Welcome to the North Metropolitan Education Region

North Metropolitan Education Regional Office

About Us

The North Metropolitan Education Region comprises over 240 public schools providing kindergarten – Year 12 school-based education programs for over 100,400 students in the north-western and north-eastern suburbs of the Perth Metropolitan Area.

The North Metropolitan Education Region was formed from the Government’s regionalisation initiative to empower local school communities and give principals and staff a greater say in how regional services are delivered and used. This involved the creation of a new regional structure in January 2011 which included the amalgamation of the Swan and West Coast Education Districts.

Regional Schools Networks

There are 23 regional schools networks, comprising of up to 20 public schools each have been formed in the North Metropolitan Education Region with the flexibility to respond to local issues in ways that will have relevance to local communities. These networks of schools began their formation during 2011 and are led by a Network Principal.

Regional Office

The North Metropolitan Regional Education Office has been established to allow community members to approach senior Department representatives with issues and problems for local resolution. This office has also been created to foster interagency collaboration to further assist families of school-aged children. Some specialist behaviour management, attendance, home education and regional school network coordinating support staff are located in the regional office.

This regional office is headed by the Director of Education (Mrs Joanne Harris) and is supported by two Assistant Directors of Education (Mr Steve Watson and Mr Leon Wilson).

This region has its regional office based in Stirling (Level 2, 1 Puccini Court).

To contact this regional office, please telephone the reception on (08) 9285 3600, via facsimile on (08) 9285 3730 or via  email to

Correspondence can also be mailed to:

North Metropolitan Regional Education Office
PO Box 1126

About Us

All contents copyright Government of Western Australia, unless otherwise stated.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this site may contain images of people who are deceased.

Copyright material available on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0) licence
Exclusions may apply: