Department of Education

Institute for Professional LearningFor School Leaders ‹ Independent Public Schools Bridging Program: Changing Places, Changing Views

Independent Public Schools Bridging Program: Changing Places, Changing Views


About the program

The Independent Public Schools Bridging Program: changing places, changing views program focuses on two key dimensions of leadership – leading and managing an independent public school and the link between autonomy and empowerment. 

The first dimension includes opportunities to receive information on competencies, such as staff selection, the one-line budget, governance, marketing and promotion, self-assessment, planning, reviewing and reporting. 

The second dimension aims to improve the capacity of leaders to understand the attributes of and develop a common language for empowering leadership while reflecting on their own leadership skills and ability to apply this understanding in their current context. 

This is a capacity building program that is mandatory for those who win an acting principal position in an independent public school or are substantively appointed to an independent public school as a principal for the first time. 

By the end of the program, it is intended participants will be equipped to:

  • lead and manage people and the school in a more autonomous environment, focusing on competencies which include staff selection, the one-line budget, governance, marketing and promotion, self-assessment, planning, reviewing and reporting
  • develop the mindset and skills of an empowered, resilient and ethical leader.

About the facilitators

David Price, Director, School Improvement and Support Unit (SISU)

David has over 40 years experience as a teacher, principal, director and assistant executive director, in a diverse range of school, district and central roles.  He has also held positions in policy development in the areas of Aboriginal education and training, rural and remote education and the development of cross-sectoral educational partnerships.

In 2000, David was awarded a Churchill Fellowship to study community and school partnerships in lower socio-economic rural towns in the United States.  In 2004 he undertook a study of school accountability in New York. Recently David has returned from the United States where he worked closely with Harvard University to create a high quality leadership experience for Western Australian principals.

Julie Carlson, Consultant Principal, Institute for Professional Learning

As the principal of a large independent public school, Julie is highly experienced in managing the complexities, challenges and opportunities that arise in these roles.

She is available to support principals in the challenge of juggling the myriad competing demands while maintaining a focus on students as the core for every decision. 

Julie's background includes leading curriculum and online learning across primary and secondary schools and in isolated, regional and metropolitan locations. Her involvement and passion in Aboriginal education began as a newly appointed graduate to Balgo Hills Aboriginal Community.

Matt Osborne, Principal Advisor, School Improvement and Support Unit

Matt Osborne is a principal advisor with the SISU team. He has been the foundation Principal of Comet Bay Primary School since 2006 and during this time has spent 12 months in Central Office working as a principal advisor in the Student-Centred Funding Model team. 

Matt has been a strong advocate for the Independent Public School initiative with Comet Bay Primary School being selected to participate in the first round of IPS schools in 2010. He was a foundation member of the IPS Advisory Group and has actively engaged in assisting many schools become IPS each year.  

The Principals Australia Institute awarded Matt the John Laing Professional Development Award for his work in providing outstanding professional learning in his school and across the system. In 2017, he was selected for the Harvard Fellowship program.

SISU members will also present.

Members of the School Improvement and Support Unit (SISU) will also be presenting.

    Four day program
    over three months

    No current intakes



Alignment to professional standards

Australian Professional Standard for Principals:

  • Leading teaching and learning
  • Developing self and others
  • Leading improvement, innovation and change
  • Leading the management of the school
  • Engaging and working with the community.
Back to top


There are no current intakes for this program.






Institute for Professional Learning   
Building B
164-194 Oxford Street, Leederville
Medibank Stadium
Subiaco Football Club
246 Vincent Street, Leederville


Back to top

On the day

  • Programs start at 8.00am. Tea and coffee are available from 7.45am.
  • Business dress is required.
  • Morning tea and lunch are provided.
  • Wifi connection is available.


See venues section above.



Please note the Institute does not have on-site parking available:

  • The City of Vincent has a number of car parks throughout Leederville.
  • The closest long term paid parking is available on the south side of The Avenue Car Park on Leederville Parade.
  • Short term paid parking (two hour) is available in adjacent streets.
  • The City of Vincent offers a 'pay by phone' parking service.
  • The Institute is a two minute walk from Leederville train station.
  • Taxis service the site promptly.
  • Cycle racks are located outside Building F at the Institute.

Download the Institute map and parking information.

Back to top

How to enrol

  • Register for Independent Public Schools Bridging Program: Changing Places, Changing Views on the Department of Education’s Professional Learning Information System.
  • Complete your details and payment.

Further information

Please contact the Institute for Professional Learning on 1300 610 801 or email .


Independent Public Schools Bridging Program: Changing Places, Changing Views

All contents copyright Government of Western Australia, unless otherwise stated.

Copyright material available on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0) licence
Exclusions may apply: