Department of Education

Swimming and Water Safety

Swimming and Water Safety

Swimming and Water Safety ‹ Interm Swimming

Introduction to Interm swimming

The Interm swimming program is a school based program offered to pre-primary to Year 7 students.  The program provides quality swimming lessons across the State to ensure students develop vital swimming and water safety skills.

The Department of Education meets the cost of instruction at Interm classes for all public primary students and private primary students in rural and remote areas.  The program is also available to metropolitan non-government primary schools on a user pays basis.  Parents usually need to pay a fee to cover transport and entry costs into the swimming centre.

The Interm swimming program is well supported by schools. In recent years, approximately 90% of eligible public primary schools across the State participate in the program.  Uptake among public primary schools in the metropolitan area is almost 100%.  Lessons operate at about 100 country and 50 metropolitan locations, with 175,000 students enrolling in the program, more than 16% from private schools.

Parents seeking general information on the structure of the Interm Swimming program should click on awards and stages.  To enrol, please contact your childrens school.

School or swimming staff that need information about the administration and operation of the program should click on administrative guidelines.

Information on how to become a swimming instructor or how to apply for a teaching position in the Interm program is obtained by clicking on the Swimming instructors link.

2017 Interm Swimming Program Term Dates

2017 Start End
Semester 1 Term 1 Monday 1 February Friday 7 April
Term 2 Tuesday 24 April Friday 30 June
Semester 2 Term 3 Monday 17 July Friday 22 September
Term 4 Monday 9 October Thursday 14 December


Interm Swimming

All contents copyright Government of Western Australia, unless otherwise stated.

Copyright material available on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0) licence
Exclusions may apply: