Department of Education



To achieve a complete multimedia experience when browsing this web site please install the latest Adobe Flash Player plug-in.

Australian Curriculum

The Australian Curriculum describes a learning entitlement for each Australian student. It sets out what young people should be taught (through the specification of curriculum content from learning areas, general capabilities and cross-curriculum priorites) and an expectation of the quality of their learning (depth of understanding and sophistication of skills described through achievement standards). The Australian Curriculum learning areas are being written by the Australian Curriculum Assessment and Reporting Authority (ACARA) in three phases, with completion of all learning areas expected by the end of 2013.

Source: Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority (ACARA)

For more information in preparation for the implementation of the Australian Curriculum visit the Curriculum Support website.

K-10 Syllabus

The K-10 Syllabuses are advisory materials. The syllabuses detail content at each year of schooling and phase of development from kindergarten to year 10. Syllabuses are provided for Early Childhood (K-3), Middle Childhood (4-7) and each learning area in Early Adolescence (8-10).

When using these advisory materials, teachers will continue to make professional judgements about when to introduce content based on students' prior learning and achievement.

During public school transition to full implementation of the australian Curriculum across all learning areas, to be completed by 2016, schools may choose to use the K-10 Syllabuses as a basis for their curriculum delivery.


Copyright notice for use of Australian Curriculum material.
© Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority 2012.
This is an extract from the Australian Curriculum.
ACARA neither endorses nor verifies the accuracy of the information provided and accepts no responsibility for incomplete or inaccurate information. In particular, ACARA does not endorse or verify that:

  • The content descriptions are solely for a particular year and subject;
  • All the content descriptions for that year and subject have been used; and
  • The author’s material aligns with the Australian Curriculum content descriptions for the relevant year and subject.

You can find the unaltered and most up to date version of this material at
This material is reproduced with the permission of ACARA.