Department of Education

Western Australian Curriculum Support

Implementation of the Western Australian Curriculum
Implementation of the Western Australian Curriculum
The Western Australian Curriculum sets out the core knowledge, understanding, skills and general capabilities important for all Western Australian students.

Western Australian Curriculum Support

Western Australian Curriculum SupportTargeted Support ‹ Active and informed citizens

Active and informed citizens

Cross-curriculum priorities and General capabilities

The Cross-curriculum priorities are embedded in all learning areas, they do not identify additional curriculum material to be taught.  They reflect content already embedded across the curriculum and critically important contexts for teaching and learning.

The three priorities are:

Asia Literacy, Aboriginal Perspectives and Sustainability are useful sites for further support.

The General capabilities encompass the knowledge, skills, behaviours and dispositions that together with curriculum content in each learning area and the cross-curriculum priorities, will assist students to live and work successfully in the twenty-first century.  The seven general capabilities are:

  • Literacy
  • Numeracy
  • Information and communication technology capability
  • Critical and creative thinking
  • Personal and social capability
  • Ethical understanding
  • Intercultural Understanding
| Next page
Active and informed citizens

All contents copyright Government of Western Australia, unless otherwise stated.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this site may contain images of people who are deceased.

Copyright material available on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0) licence
Exclusions may apply: