Department of Education

Recognition for Teachers


The Department of Education recognises teachers with relevant prior service and qualifications in approved courses of higher study.

It is the responsibility of the teacher applying for salary grade recognition to provide the required evidence.

Teachers applying for recognition must have an active Department Employee Identification Number (E Number) as applications are submitted electronically in the Department’s Human Resource Management Information System (HRMIS).

Back to top

Prior Service

Teachers who commence work with the Department of Education may have their prior experience recognised for the purpose of a salary level increase on appointment. Relevant experience other than teaching may be taken into consideration in unique circumstances, and is based on skills directly related to teaching experience. Our Recognition of Prior Service guidelines set out the essential criteria and required format for recognition applications.

Claims for prior service recognition must be received within six months of appointment with the Department (including casual employment) to be considered for retrospective salary payment.  If claims are received more than six months after commencement of employment, any additional increment will only be backdated to the date the application was received.

Back to top


Teachers who are five year trained are recognised by the Department of Education.  To be deemed five-year trained, teachers must have completed a minimum of 5 years of full-time study in approved courses of higher study.  The Department’s Recognition as a five-year trained teacher based on qualifications guidelines outline the essential criteria and required format for recognition applications.

Back to top

HRMIS Guide on how to apply

The Department’s Guide on how to apply in HRMIS via Employee Self-Service informs teachers how to submit their recognition applications online from a school worksite.

Back to top

Contact us

For further information:


T: +61 8 9264 4412

Recognition for Teachers

All contents copyright Government of Western Australia, unless otherwise stated.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this site may contain images of people who are deceased.

Copyright material available on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0) licence
Exclusions may apply: